Tag Archives: first line friday

First Line Fridays (11/8/19)

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page. Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first

Finally… reveal the book!

Without further ado, here is the first line-

Imagine you’re a bird. You can be any kind of bird, but those of you who’ve chosen ostrich or chicken are going to struggle to keep up. Now, imagine you’re coasting through the skies above Los Angeles, coughing occasionally in the smog.

This one sat in my local library’s queue since release and my turn to read it has finally come around! So this will be one of my November reads. Have read many glowing reviews, it sounds like a fun read. Here is the summary from Goodreads-

Summary

The only child of a single mother, Nina has her life just as she wants it: a job in a bookstore, a kick-butt trivia team, a world-class planner and a cat named Phil. If she sometimes suspects there might be more to life than reading, she just shrugs and picks up a new book.

When the father Nina never knew existed suddenly dies, leaving behind innumerable sisters, brothers, nieces, and nephews, Nina is horrified. They all live close by! They’re all—or mostly all—excited to meet her! She’ll have to Speak. To. Strangers. It’s a disaster! And as if that wasn’t enough, Tom, her trivia nemesis, has turned out to be cute, funny, and deeply interested in getting to know her. Doesn’t he realize what a terrible idea that is?

Nina considers her options.

1. Completely change her name and appearance. (Too drastic, plus she likes her hair.)
2. Flee to a deserted island. (Hard pass, see: coffee).
3. Hide in a corner of her apartment and rock back and forth. (Already doing it.)

It’s time for Nina to come out of her comfortable shell, but she isn’t convinced real life could ever live up to fiction. It’s going to take a brand-new family, a persistent suitor, and the combined effects of ice cream and trivia to make her turn her own fresh page.


Have you read The Bookish Life Of Nina Hill or are interested in reading it? Thanks for checking out this week’s First Line Fridays! Hope everyone has a wonderful incoming weekend. ~ Kitty

First Line Fridays (10/25/19)

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page. Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first

Finally… reveal the book!

Without further ado, here is the first line-

When I was seven, I found a door. I suspect I should capitalize that word, so you understand I’m not talking about your garden- or common-variety door that leads reliably to a white-tiled kitchen or a bedroom closet. When I was seven, I found a Door. There- look how tall and proud the word stands on the page now, the belly of that D like a black archway leading into white nothing.

The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow

I’ve read several glowing reviews for this title that have it sounding like a fascinating book-about-books read. Quite high on my TBR. Here is the summary on Goodreads-

In the early 1900s, a young woman embarks on a fantastical journey of self-discovery after finding a mysterious book in this captivating and lyrical debut.

In a sprawling mansion filled with peculiar treasures, January Scaller is a curiosity herself. As the ward of the wealthy Mr. Locke, she feels little different from the artifacts that decorate the halls: carefully maintained, largely ignored, and utterly out of place.

Then she finds a strange book. A book that carries the scent of other worlds, and tells a tale of secret doors, of love, adventure and danger. Each page turn reveals impossible truths about the world and January discovers a story increasingly entwined with her own.

Lush and richly imagined, a tale of impossible journeys, unforgettable love, and the enduring power of stories awaits in Alix E. Harrow’s spellbinding debut–step inside and discover its magic.


Have you read The Ten Thousand Doors of January or are interested in reading it? Thanks for checking out this week’s First Line Fridays! Hope everyone has a wonderful incoming weekend. ~ Kitty

First Line Fridays (10/18/19)

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page. Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first

Finally… reveal the book!

Without further ado, here is the first line-

There was nothing quite like the first tick of a new heart. The silver TICCER stuttered to life in Anna’s palm, its metal pulse a metronome moving in time with her own clockwork heart.

Tarnished Are The Stars by Rosiee Thor

This is a release from October 15, 2019, on my Oct/Nov TBR. I thought it has an interesting opening line. Here is the summary on Goodreads-

The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron.

A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher’s chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog — donning the moniker Technician — to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner’s tyrannical laws.

Nathaniel Fremont, the Commissioner’s son, has never had to fear the law. Determined to earn his father’s respect, Nathaniel sets out to capture the Technician. But the more he learns about the outlaw, the more he questions whether his father’s elusive affection is worth chasing at all.

Their game of cat and mouse takes an abrupt turn when Eliza, a skilled assassin and spy, arrives. Her mission is to learn the Commissioner’s secrets at any cost — even if it means betraying her own heart.

When these uneasy allies discover the most dangerous secret of all, they must work together despite their differences and put an end to a deadly epidemic — before the Commissioner ends them first.


Thanks as always for checking in to this week’s First Line Fridays! Hoping everyone has a great and fun (and/or relaxing) weekend. ~ Kitty

First Line Fridays (10/11/19)

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page. Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first

Finally… reveal the book!

Without further ado, here is the first line-

I had three brothers once. Finlei was the oldest-the brave one. Nothing frightened him, not spiders or needles or a flogging from Baba’s cane. He was the quickest of us four children, fast enough to catch a fly with only his thumb and a thimble.

Spin The Dawn by Elizabeth Lim (Amazon Link)

I happened to have this book still close at hand. The opening line doesn’t do much to reveal the contents within or the premise, but several people have read this newer release in the last couple of months. This is one I’m confident a few people will be able to guess out.

Thanks as always for checking in to this week’s First Line Fridays! Hoping everyone has a great and fun (and/or relaxing) weekend. ~ Kitty